Critics’ Choice Awards: What you didn’t see on TV, from bleeped speeches to table-side hugs

Harvey Keitel and Robert De Niro may not have been able to finish their acceptance speeches during the telecast, but attendees encouraged them to keep talking into the commercial break. (Photo: Emma McIntyre, Getty Images)

SANTA MONICA, Calif. – Even if you watched CW Network’s three-hour Critics’ Choice Awards on Sunday night, you couldn’t see everything that happened at Barker Hangar.

Yes, you saw “Fleabag” score, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” win big and “Parasite” director Bong Joon-ho share the honor with “1917” director Sam Mendes. 

But the cameras don’t let television viewers hear the bleeped words, see table-side hugs and watch speeches that are cut off for commercial breaks. That’s where we come in.

Since we had ticketed seats, we can share all of the Critics’ Choice Awards gossip with you, dear readers. Here’s what you missed: 

‘The Irishman’ speech got cut off

When the cast of “The Irishman” won best acting ensemble, Robert De Niro, Al Pacino and Harvey Keitel all went onstage to accept the award. But there apparently wasn’t enough time for them all to say their thank yous on the show, because after Pacino said a few words, the men were played off.

That is, until the crowed booed and Keitel decided he would keep talking.

“The great Stanislavski … said there are no small parts, only small actors. And I tried to convince Al of this, but he wouldn’t switch parts with me,” Keitel joked.

#TheIrishman wins for best ensemble, but the group’s speech gets cuts off before Harvey Keitel can talk. The crowd encourages him to talk into commercial break: “There are no small parts… is something I tried to convince Al (Pacino).”

De Niro also decided, long after the show had cut to commercial, to keep the speechmaking going and thank Netflix for “making this happen for us.”

Later in the show, Keitel got an acceptance speech shout-out from best-picture winner Quentin Tarantino. The “Once Upon a Time” director thanked Keitel for giving “this kid a chance.”

Eddie Murphy didn’t use a teleprompter

Though presenters tend to read their prewritten scripts, Murphy did no such thing, despite being honored with a previously announced lifetime achievement award. Instead, he spoke off the cuff about how he’s gotten to play all sorts of roles in his career, from a donkey in “Shrek” to a spaceship in the critically panned Dave.

He went on, in language that isn’t suitable for TV: “That (expletive) didn’t go too well. … Never play a spaceship.”

By the time Murphy accepted the award for best comedy “Dolemite is My Name,” he said he was “at a loss for words.”

Critics’ Choice Awards 2020: The complete winners list

Eddie Murphy didn't refer to notes as he accepted his lifetime achievement award. (Photo: Emma McIntyre, Getty Images)

Part of Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s speech was NSFW  

The “Fleabag” creator and star accepted two Critics’ Choice awards, for actress and comedy series. Her co-star Andrew Scott (aka “Hot Priest”) also won. So by the time Waller-Bridge accepted her show’s third honor of the night, she was feeling good, and not so concerned with her language. We can’t repeat what she said here, but she did express gratitude that her show, whose main character says lewd things to the cameras all the time, was well received.

Waller-Bridge has said that Season 2 is the last for her critically acclaimed “Fleabag,” but that doesn’t mean it’s the last time she’s collaborating with Scott. On the Critics’ Choice red carpet, Scott told USA TODAY that the two are “working on something now.” He added: “We’ll make it spicy!”

? Andrew Scott, #CriticsChoice winner, confirms that he and Phoebe Waller-Bridge are working on a “spicy” new project‼️ (reshared with correct video, oops)

Some winners got standing ovations

There are so many winners, since the Critics’ Choice recognizes both TV and movies, that there’s not enough time to present an award to every winner let alone stand for each one. However, there are a few stars who received standing ovations when their names were called. Among them: Murphy, Joon-ho, the winning cast of limited series “When They See Us,” and comedy special winner Norman Lear.

Source: Read Full Article