Shane Lowry wins RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year while Jim Gavin takes home manager prize

Open champion Shane Lowry has won the RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year award for 2019.

The Offaly golfer beat a highly decorated field to take home the prize, and is the first golfer to win the award since Rory McIlroy in 2014. Lowry took home the honour after a year that saw him win two events, the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship and the Open Championship.

Lowry played scintillating golf at Royal Portrush to win his first major by six shots in July.

Elsewhere, Jim Gavin won the Manager of the Year award after guiding Dublin to an historic fifth All-Ireland title in-a-row, while the Dubs scooped the Team of the Year prize.

Soon-to-be Olympian Rhys McClenaghan won Young Sportsperson of the Year after claiming a bronze medal in the pommel horse at the world championships, while Sonia O’Sullivan received the Hall of Fame award.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland’s against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Source: Read Full Article