Top NASCAR drivers seek missing prize: Daytona 500 triumph

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The Big 3 dominated the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series a year ago, but Kevin Harvick is the only one of the trio to win NASCAR’s most prestigious and chaotic race. 

Kyle Busch and Marin Truex Jr. – who along with Harvick combined to win 20 races in 2018 –  each will seek that first Daytona 500 trophy on Sunday (2:30 p.m. ET, Fox) at Daytona International Speedway. Whether either break through to take the checkerd flag on the 2.5-mile oval are among some of the top storylines entering the official start of the 2019 NASCAR season. 

The feel-good story: Truex won the 2017 Cup title and finished second in the standings to Team Penske’s Joey Logano at the 2018 season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. His former team, Furniture Row Racing, shut down after the season, and Truex moved — along with his crew chief Cole Pearn — to Joe Gibbs Racing. 

Source: Read Full Article