Who are the ITV Rugby World Cup pundits? England legend Jonny Wilkinson, Clive Woodward, Sam Warburton and full list – The Sun

JAPAN hosts the Rugby World Cup for the first time.

Eight nations remain in the hunt for the Webb Ellis Trophy – and ITV have secured exclusive rights to show the tournament on UK television.

Who are the ITV Rugby World Cup pundits?

TO celebrate showing the competition, ITV have put together a star-studded punditry line-up.

Made up of ex-players and coaches, the panel will be able to provide a fascinating insight as England go for their first World Cup triumph since 2003.

Here's who will be appearing on your screens throughout the tournament…

Brian O'Driscoll

Former Irish and Lions legend, O'Driscoll is the second-most capped player in Test history.

He was inducted into the Rugby Hall of Fame in 2016 and was part of Ireland's unsuccessful bid to host the 2023 World Cup.

Maggie Alphonsi

A flanker during her playing career, Maggie played for Saracens and England before retiring in 2014.

She has played in two Rugby World Cups and in 2012 shared in a record seventh successive Six Nations title with the Red Rose.

Bryan Habana

Bryan Habana was 2007 Player of the Year as he equalled Jonah Lomu's record of eight tries to help South Africa win their second Rugby World Cup in France.

He also won two European Rugby Champions Cups with Toulon.

Sam Warburton

One of Wales' modern greats, former skipper Warburton won his first cap in 2009 and went on to play 74 times for his country.

He captained the Lions on their 2013 tour Down Under and only hung up his boots last summer.

Jonny Wilkinson

England fans require no introduction to the hero of 2003.

Wilkinson was one of the most recognisable rugby players of his era, winning 91 caps for the Red Rose before retiring from international rugby in 2011.

Paul O'Connell

Another former Irish star, the imposing O'Connell stands at 6f6 and played 108 times for his country.

He won three Six Nations titles with the men in Green, including during their Grand Slam in 2009.

Sean Fitzpatrick

Former All Blacks captain Sean Fitzpatrick helped his country to the first Rugby World Cup in 1987.

He would go on to make 92 appearances for New Zealand between 1986 and 1997.

Lawrence Dallaglio

England's ever-present hero in the 2003 World Cup, Dallagio became a national hero after the dramatic victory.

He played as a flanker or No8 for club and country, turning out more than 200 times for Wasps.

Jill Douglas

A Scottish sports presenter, Jill will be sharing presenting duties with Mark Pougatch.

Formerly of the BBC and Sky Sports, Douglas joins up with ITV for their bumper World Cup schedule.

George Gregan

Zambian-born George Gregan is Australia's highest ever appearance-maker and a 1999 World Cup winner.

The scrum-half played in all six of Australia's 2003 Rugby World Cup matches, including their famous loss to England in the final.

Michael Lynagh

Fly-half Michael Lynagh made 72 appearances for Australia, helping the Wallabies to the 1991 World Cup.

He retired in 1995 as the world record international points scorer – a record now held by Dan Carter.

Gareth Thomas

Joining the Welsh contingent is Gareth Thomas.

The former captain made 100 appearances for Wales – in 2005 helping them to their first Six Nations grand slam since 1978 – and four for the rugby league team

Mike Phillips

Scrum-half Mike Phillips made 94 appearances for Wales between 2003 and 2015.

He was part of Welsh squads that secured four titles in that period – three of which were won with a grand slam.

Sir Clive Woodward

Legendary coach Woodward led England to World Cup glory in 2003.

Capped for the Red Rose during his playing career, the charismatic boss also won three Six Nations during his time in charge.

Sir Ian McGeechan

A Yorkshire-born Scot, McGeechan played 32 times for Scotland before coaching his country in the late 80s, early 90s.

He led the Scots to the quarter-finals of the World Cup in 1987 and the Five Nations title in 1990.

Jim Hamilton

Lock Jim Hamilton made 63 appearances for Scotland between 2006 and 2015.

He also won two Premiership titles and two European Champions Cups with Saracens.

What are the World Cup pools?

  • Pool A: Ireland, Japan, Russia, Samoa, Scotland
  • Pool B: Canada, Italy, Namibia, New Zealand, South Africa
  • Pool C: Argentina, England, France, Tonga, United States
  • Pool D: Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Uruguay, Wales

Source: Read Full Article